Francesca does Voicebox

Last night at Voicebox I had the pleasure of reading in very fine company  🙂

IMG_2621 (1)

A work in progress called Jack of Spades

face up
the Jack of Spades
card in the grass
I pick him up

eucalypts beside the river scritch
Jack they say
his charm would charm
a spinster off her perch

just like you I think

sheoaks speak through gritted teeth
this one-eyed Jack is blessed
with easy-going charm
repeat repeat

is it you or someone new?

the river sweeps round Matagarup
waters lap the island’s crust
I watch the waves for a fin
I know the difference now

I know the difference now
between a Jack and a Knave

the raven pins me with his pearly eye
his wings shine midnight blue
he caws, your Jack is young at heart
life flows Jack’s way, Jack floats
enamoured of the easy path
he stretches truth to suit
the raven gnaws my heart

it is you

from the west the wind swoops down
against its strength I bend I break
I cannot see the way
the west wind echoes

it’s you it’s you

warning signs litter the ground
knocked off in last night’s storm
crimson bottlebrush lie
prematurely dead

the jetty is condemned they say
aren’t you afraid? pelicans roost here
all the same—aren’t you afraid
I’ll never come home

clouds scud across the sky and leave
messages in mushroom eruptions and ringlets
in their wake I write, I’m coming
now Jack, I’m coming

About Francesca Jurate Sasnaitis

Me = Francesca Jurate Kristina Sasnaitis... also known as Jūrytė/ Jūrytėle/ Jūračiuk/ Jurachook/ U-Russia/ Urata/ Rata/ Jay-bird/ Jay-peg/ Miss J/ Big J/ France/ Franca.... Sasna/ Fox/ Greville/ Knight... and Nerada Netis... as far as I can remember... oh, and there's still room for Kristina... somewhere, sometime... Me = drew, painted, made sculpture, then stopped; printed photographs, then stopped; wrote, then stopped; made furniture, then stopped; made prints, then stopped; became a bookseller and stopped; wrote some more, kept writing some... and more... started painting again... sold a few more books... stopped... wrote some more, kept writing some... and more... and now seeing words, writing images... was that last bit too wanky? What goes around comes around, I guess...
This entry was posted in voilà and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

